Mini-Reviews: Amish Fiction

by Jac on March 29, 2017

I’ve fallen a bit behind on reviews, so today I have decided to do a few mini-reviews that have been sitting on my shelf for awhile! My theme for today is “Amish Fiction” which is one of my favorite guilty pleasures!

Thanks to Netgalley and the publishing houses for these books – I received them in exchange for an honest review!

 

Amish Cooking Class The Amish Cooking Class by Wanda Brunstetter

Wanda Brunstetter is one of my absolute favorite authors for this type of story!

If your’e a fan of Amish Fiction? Then you’ve no doubt spent some (fictional) time inside Amish Kitchens! And this new series (The Amish Cooking Class) is definitely going to be a hit for fans of this genre!

This story does such a great job of pulling people from so many walks of life together! And this story is so vibrant that you feel invested and pulled in to each of their individual stories!

But the thing I loved the most about this story? Lyle and Heidi! And Lyle’s unwavering support to his wife as she starts this venture! (Because all too often? I feel like so many of the Amish books feature a brooding Amish husband who doesn’t want his wife to be working too hard, and that she should be home cooking and cleaning all the time.

This story is such a great, fast read! It’s so full of emotion, and it will hook you from the first moment you pick up the book!

 

LiLike a Bee to Honeyke a Bee to Honey by Jennifer Beckstrand

Beckstrand is a new (to me) author, so I wasn’t quite sure what to expect when I first picked up this book! I was pleasantly surprised by her smooth writing style and deep and lovable characters.

I have to admit, I found myself getting frustrated by Rose. She seemed a bit overly emotional, and quick to react. (Although I do wonder if this is just myself, being sick and tired of over emotional pre-teenage girls in my life!)  But Josiah more than made up for this small issue for me!

I’ve got to be honest – Josiah is what made this story for me. I loved him. I adored how he stuck to his guns, and his intuition. He was so lovable, and his admiration of Rose? *Swoon*

If you’re looking for a sweet Amish romance? This is a great, quick,, read!

 

 

{ 0 comments }

Kowalski *I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

I’ve been in a major reading slump lately. MAJOR. I can’t really find books to hold my attention because life has been way too hectic. But when I saw another Kowalski book on Netgalley? I couldn’t help but ask for it.

I feel like I owe Shannon Stacey a HUGE Thank You for breaking my slump! Because let me tell you – this book? FABULOUS!

Laney is fantastic! She’s breaking out on her own after a divorce from a marriage that lasted WAY too long, and she finds a job and a camper living at the Kowalski lodge!

Ben is back in his hometown of Whitford and ready to settle down. Which means that of course he’s going to fall for Laney who isn’t ready for ANY sort of a relationship!

This book is full of everything we love about the Kowalski family – including (as the title tells us) a reunion with all of our favorite characters! And I just want to live in it’s pages forever! There were laughs, swoons and everything fabulous that Shannon Stacey books are made of!

I have missed this family, and I am so glad that they helped to break my reading slump!

{ 0 comments }

Review: Holiday with a Twist by Shannon Stacey

January 29, 2017

  I adored the story of Leigh and Croy!! Before I can jump into my love for this story? I need to give their backstory. Growing up, Leigh’s best friend Aubrey was Croy’s sweetheart. The three were incredibly close. And then life happened. And now Leigh is back home. I think what I loved the most […]

Read the full article →

Review: My Unscripted Life by Lauren Morrill

October 11, 2016

Searching Netgalley one afternoon I saw the cover of My Unscripted Life and thought “how adorable” and once I started reading the description and saw “Perfect for fans of Jennifer L. Smith and Huntley Fitzpatrick,” I knew I HAD to read this book ASAP! (And holy wow!!! Was my gut reaction right!) In fact? It’s a ‘one-sitting’ […]

Read the full article →

Review: Doodletopia: Fairies by Christopher Hart

October 6, 2016

I love to doodle, and I love fairies!! So how could this book not be a win?? Well… I’m not very good with my drawing. I never have been. But the instructions in this one? They were simple, to the point and all around fantastic!!  (Although it forced me to use a pencil, which I […]

Read the full article →

Review: Housebroken by Laurie Notaro

September 12, 2016

Somehow? I’ve been living under a rock and have never heard of Laurie Notaro! (And after reading Housebroken? That makes me VERY sad. MUST READ ALL HER BOOKS!!) I have to admit? I can relate to many of her stories on a level that’s almost embarrassing. (Her essay about Marie Kondo’s cult-like following and book? […]

Read the full article →

Review: Royal Games by Sariah Wilson

September 4, 2016

I was drawn to Royal Games by the reality show aspect. (There you have it, I’m a reality show junkie!) But I was pleasantly surprised by this fun, fast paced book! (And I went back and read book one immediately after finishing – which I would recommend doing BEFORE… ) Genesis is a pretty amazing […]

Read the full article →

Review: Twins for the Bull Rider by April Arrington

August 25, 2016

For the longest time Harlequin Romance was my big guilty pleasure. I would devour them, and every so often? A title catches my eye and I’m just hooked. This week I needed a quick escape, so I grabbed Twins for the Bull Rider! Cissy just broke my heart. Her love for her nephews, her desire […]

Read the full article →

Review: One Night Charmer by Maisey Yates

August 22, 2016

Maisey Yates and her Copper Ridge series is my current favorite contemporary romance!! (I have to admit here that I own everything available in this series in eBook, Print and Audio.) This story between Ace and Sierra? I LOVED IT!!! I loved the aspect of the poor-little-rich-girl. I loved Ace’s backstory, even though it broke […]

Read the full article →

Review: Sugar Rush by Sawyer Bennett

August 12, 2016

Sawyer Bennett has become one of my favorite authors this past year! Her books are absolutely phenomenal and I can’t put them down!! So when I saw Book #2 in  her Sugar Bowl series available? I couldn’t wait to read it!! Book 1, Sugar Daddy, left us with a HUGE spoiler. (It may be one […]

Read the full article →