I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: My Unscripted Life by Lauren MorrillMy Unscripted Life by Lauren Morrill
Published by Random House Children's Books on 2016-10-11
Genres: Film, General, New Experience, Performing Arts, Romance, Social Themes, Young Adult Fiction
Pages: 288
Source: Netgalley
Goodreads
four-half-stars
Perfect for fans of Jennifer L. Smith and Huntley Fitzpatrick, you'll love this funny and sweet contemporary romance about a Southern girl ready for a ho-hum summer until she meets the boy of her dreams who happens to be an international pop star. Sometimes love stories go off script.   Another sultry Georgia summer is about to get a lot hotter. Dee Wilkie is still licking her wounds after getting rejected by the precollege fine arts program of her dreams. But if she'd gone away, she wouldn't have been around to say yes to an unbelievable opportunity: working on the set of a movie filming in her small Southern town that just happens to be starring Milo Ritter, the famous pop star Dee (along with the rest of the world) has had a crush since eighth grade.   It's not like Dee will be sharing any screen time with Milo--she's just a lowly PA. And Milo is so disappointingly rude that Dee is eager to stay far away from him. Except after a few chance meetings, she begins to wonder if just maybe there's a reason for his offensive attitude, and if there's more to Milo than his good looks and above-it-all Hollywood pedigree. Can a relationship with a guy like Milo ever work out for a girl like Dee? Never say never. . . .

Searching Netgalley one afternoon I saw the cover of My Unscripted Life and thought “how adorable” and once I started reading the description and saw “Perfect for fans of Jennifer L. Smith and Huntley Fitzpatrick,” I knew I HAD to read this book ASAP! (And holy wow!!! Was my gut reaction right!) In fact? It’s a ‘one-sitting’ kind of book! I could NOT put it down!  (I should’ve known – I absolutely adored Morrill’s Being Sloan Jacobs!

I don’t even know where to start reviewing this book, because THE FEELS!!! I loved Dee and her relationship with Naz, her best friend. In fact, if I had one complaint? It’s that we didn’t have enough of that. Although, I understand that Naz had to leave for the summer so that Dee could find her own way! (And find Milo!)

And Milo? **SWOON** Need I say more?? Who hasn’t had the fantasy of your favorite singer/actor/famous person just popping into your life?? And then to have him be amazing and perfect and dark and mysterious all at once? COME ON! He’s perfect!

Then, let’s add in the movie set! I’m a sound geek. Literally. My ‘day job’ is as an Audio Engineer – I’m a “sound guy” minus the whole guy thing. And I have always said I wished I’d gotten into it sooner, so that I could have done more! So seeing the tech side of the movie industry? Had me geeking out all over the place!

See? I feel like I didn’t tell you anything! But I’m writing this at 3am, about an hour after I finished reading it. I can’t sleep because my brain keeps playing through the book. I loved it so much!! And as the snipped says? Fans of Jennifer L. Smith and Huntley Fitzpatrick will be thrilled with this story!

 

{ 1 comment }

cover92435-mediumI love to doodle, and I love fairies!! So how could this book not be a win??

Well… I’m not very good with my drawing. I never have been. But the instructions in this one? They were simple, to the point and all around fantastic!!  (Although it forced me to use a pencil, which I loathe *ha ha ha ha* )

I love that Mr. Hart’s directions were simple and to the point. I love that he uses text and illustrations to get the point across! I can look up “how to draw xyz” on Pinterest and find step-by-step illustrations, but for some reason? The description along side the drawings? Worked really well for me!

I look forward to picking up more Doodletopia books in the near future!

{ 0 comments }

Review: Housebroken by Laurie Notaro

September 12, 2016

Somehow? I’ve been living under a rock and have never heard of Laurie Notaro! (And after reading Housebroken? That makes me VERY sad. MUST READ ALL HER BOOKS!!) I have to admit? I can relate to many of her stories on a level that’s almost embarrassing. (Her essay about Marie Kondo’s cult-like following and book? […]

Read the full article →

Review: Royal Games by Sariah Wilson

September 4, 2016

I was drawn to Royal Games by the reality show aspect. (There you have it, I’m a reality show junkie!) But I was pleasantly surprised by this fun, fast paced book! (And I went back and read book one immediately after finishing – which I would recommend doing BEFORE… ) Genesis is a pretty amazing […]

Read the full article →

Review: Twins for the Bull Rider by April Arrington

August 25, 2016

For the longest time Harlequin Romance was my big guilty pleasure. I would devour them, and every so often? A title catches my eye and I’m just hooked. This week I needed a quick escape, so I grabbed Twins for the Bull Rider! Cissy just broke my heart. Her love for her nephews, her desire […]

Read the full article →

Review: One Night Charmer by Maisey Yates

August 22, 2016

Maisey Yates and her Copper Ridge series is my current favorite contemporary romance!! (I have to admit here that I own everything available in this series in eBook, Print and Audio.) This story between Ace and Sierra? I LOVED IT!!! I loved the aspect of the poor-little-rich-girl. I loved Ace’s backstory, even though it broke […]

Read the full article →

Review: Sugar Rush by Sawyer Bennett

August 12, 2016

Sawyer Bennett has become one of my favorite authors this past year! Her books are absolutely phenomenal and I can’t put them down!! So when I saw Book #2 in  her Sugar Bowl series available? I couldn’t wait to read it!! Book 1, Sugar Daddy, left us with a HUGE spoiler. (It may be one […]

Read the full article →

Review: Icing by Kelly Jamieson

August 12, 2016

It’s no secret, Hockey Romance is my ultimate guilty pleasure! So when I saw Book #2 in the Kelly Jamieson Chicago Aces series? I was so excited!!! (Thank you Netgalley for the chance to read and review this one!!) **Disclaimer** I have to disclose that once I was approved for this one? Life flipped upside […]

Read the full article →

Review: With My Eyes Wide Open by Brian “Head” Welch

August 10, 2016

I have always been fascinated by Brian “Head” Welch. My husband is a HUGE KoRN fan, and while I honestly am not a huge fan of my husbands music tastes in general? I try to find something redeeming, and following Brian Welch has been my way of making it bearable! I truly admire his honesty. […]

Read the full article →

Review: Playing Defense by Cate Cameron

July 28, 2016

It’s the middle of summer, and I miss hockey. So of course, it’s time to play catch-up with all the amazing Hockey books I have on my Kindle!! I love books like Playing Defense – the nerdy girl gets the hot bad-boy hockey player!! (I love them, because I’m the nerdy girl… So I relate, […]

Read the full article →