DeAnna Reviews: Proxy by Alex London

by DeAnna on August 11, 2014

DeAnna Reviews: Proxy by Alex LondonProxy by Alex London
Series: Proxy #1
Published by Penguin on 2013-06-18
Genres: Dystopian, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback
Goodreads
three-half-stars
The adventure novel of the year! Inspired by The Whipping Boy and Feed, this adrenaline-fueled thriller will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. Knox was born into one of the City's wealthiest families. A Patron, he has everything a boy could possibly want—the latest tech, the coolest clothes, and a Proxy to take all his punishments. When Knox breaks a vase, Syd is beaten. When Knox plays a practical joke, Syd is forced to haul rocks. And when Knox crashes a car, killing one of his friends, Syd is branded and sentenced to death. Syd is a Proxy. His life is not his own. Then again, neither is Knox’s. Knox and Syd have more in common than either would guess. So when Knox and Syd realize that the only way to beat the system is to save each other, they flee. Yet Knox’s father is no ordinary Patron, and Syd is no ordinary Proxy. The ensuing cross-country chase will uncover a secret society of rebels, test both boys’ resolve, and shine a blinding light onto a world of those who owe and those who pay. Some debts, it turns out, cannot be repaid. A fast-paced, thrill-ride of novel full of non-stop action, heart-hammering suspense and true friendship—just as moving as it is exhilarating. Fans of Anthony Horowitz's Alex Rider series, James Dashner's Maze Runner, Patrick Ness's Chaos Walking series, and Marie Lu's Legend trilogy will be swept away by this story.

I actually heard about Alex London’s Proxy at a Veronica Roth event I went to last month. She spoke very highly of the book, and then I watched a video with her and Alex London and decided to get the book from the library. The description is really good. The quotes on the cover of Proxy also paint a really exciting picture. Unfortunately, I don’ feel like it fully lived up to the hype.

I actually really liked the story in Proxy. I thought that the intricacies of the society were pretty interesting, and I liked seeing how and why Syd and Knox came together. They’re travels, escapes, and near-misses were really exciting. I really liked Syd’s character and actually liked Knox most of the time, though sometimes I really just wanted to smack him for being such an idiot. Knox’s father, on the other hand, was a very terrible man!

There wasn’t really much that I didn’t like about it, though sometimes it just felt like a bit much. Some things were a bit too easy for them to get out of, and other times, it just felt like they couldn’t catch a break. Also, as much as I enjoyed the story, I never had that can’t-put-it-down moment that I expected from Marie Lu’s blurb on the cover. That’s pretty much the only reason my rating isn’t super high. I found myself enjoying while I was reading, but I was also easily distracted and would forget to pick it up at times.

The ending, however, was by far, the best part of the whole book. Obviously, I won’t go into too much detail, but it really surprised me, and I thought that the twist was incredible and very well thought out. It definitely had me anxious to read the sequel, which is currently waiting at the library for me!

Overall, I really did enjoy Proxy and would recommend it to fans of sci-fi/dystopian. However, it wasn’t quite as fast-paced or gripping as I thought it would be.

DeAnna

I'm a stay-at-home mom to 3 little girls from southeastern Massachusetts! I spend my little free time reading, blogging, and exercising. I have an addiction to Kindle ebook sales.

More Posts - Website

Follow Me:
TwitterFacebookPinterest

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

Previous post:

Next post: