Review: Blindsided by Jami Davenport

by Jac on October 11, 2015

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Blindsided by Jami DavenportBlindsided by Jami Davenport
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform on 2015-11-12
Pages: 256
Source: the Author
Goodreads
four-half-stars
USA Today Bestselling author Jami Davenport introduces the Seattle Steelheads football team with this sixth book in her Game On in Seattle sports romance series. A temporary marriage knocked him off his game, but love blindsided him. The daughter of one-time rock legends, Emma Maxwell is the good girl of the family, the dutiful sister, the doting aunt, and a dedicated employee in the family party-crashing business. Every Wednesday night at Karaoke, she indulges in her secret fantasy of being a singer. Yet the thrill of being on stage doesn't rival the thrill of a spontaneous liaison with the delectable, yet downtrodden, quarterback of the Seattle Steelheads, Tanner Wolfe, Emma's long-time crush. Tanner didn't see it coming--not any of it. He was blindsided--by his dysfunctional family, his plummeting career, and the one thing he least expected--by love. After photos with Emma go viral, Tanner is caught in a lie and tells a bigger one to get out of it. Now he's shoulder-pads deep in a temporary marriage while struggling to resurrect his disastrous career and reunite his broken family. As time passes, Tanner begins to wonder if temporary is good enough, but he's made a promise to Emma, one which has nothing to do with marriage vows and everything to do with her Nashville singing career and the end of their relationship. Will Tanner and Emma take the ball and drive for the win, or will they be permanently relegated to the sidelines as the clock runs out on their temporary marriage? While all books in this series can be read as standalones, you'll most likely enjoy reading the other books in the Game On in Seattle sports romance series: Book 1--Skating on Thin Ice (Seattle Sockeyes Hockey) Book 2--Crashing the Boards (Seattle Sockeyes Hockey) Book 3--Crashing the Net (Seattle Sockeyes Hockey) Book 4--Love at First Snow (Seattle Sockeyes Hockey) Book 5--Melting Ice (Seattle Sockeyes Hockey) Book 6--Blindsided (Seattle Steelheads Football) Book 7--Hearts on Ice (Seattle Sockeyes Hockey) Part of the 12 Christmas Romances to Melt Your Heart anthology Book 8--Bodychecking (Seattle Sockeyes Hockey) AVAILABLE EARLY 2016

It’s no secret that I absolutely adore Jami Davenport. Her Game On In Seattle books are my guilty pleasure. And here is my admission – I think Blindsided is my favorite of her books so far.

But there’s more. I didn’t want to like this one. I didn’t want to like Tanner. I wanted to keep hating him. (I have to admit here that he rubbed me wrong in the previous books!) It started that way. I went into this book sure I wasn’t going to like it as much as the others. And I was so very wrong!!

Tanner and Emma have this AMAZING chemistry – despite their attempt to deny it. (And Jami writes it so incredibly well that you can feel the tension!)

I have to admit, my favorite plot was Emma’s karaoke! (I hate singing. I can’t do it. I work in a music-related field because I love music and I have an ear for it. But I can’t carry a tune. So this intrigued me that I was so into her performances.)

One thing I love about Jami Davenport is the beautiful way she paints these stories. It feels so real, as if you’re actually there. And there’s something magical about Blindsided that pulls you right in with Emma and Tanner. (And the rest of the gang from this amazing series!)

If you’re a fan of sports related romance and haven’t yet read this series? What are you waiting for!?!?! Fans of Catherine Gayle and Jill Shalvis will absolutely LOVE Jami Davenport!

Jac

I'm a homeschooling hockey mom from southern Colorado! I spend my free time blogging and reading (when I'm not at the ice arena or hiking in the Rockies!) and I have a crazy addiction to water bottles!

More Posts - Website

Follow Me:
TwitterFacebookPinterest

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

Previous post:

Next post: