Review: My Unscripted Life by Lauren Morrill

by Jac on October 11, 2016

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: My Unscripted Life by Lauren MorrillMy Unscripted Life by Lauren Morrill
Published by Random House Children's Books on 2016-10-11
Genres: Film, General, New Experience, Performing Arts, Romance, Social Themes, Young Adult Fiction
Pages: 288
Source: Netgalley
Goodreads
four-half-stars
Perfect for fans of Jennifer L. Smith and Huntley Fitzpatrick, you'll love this funny and sweet contemporary romance about a Southern girl ready for a ho-hum summer until she meets the boy of her dreams who happens to be an international pop star. Sometimes love stories go off script.   Another sultry Georgia summer is about to get a lot hotter. Dee Wilkie is still licking her wounds after getting rejected by the precollege fine arts program of her dreams. But if she'd gone away, she wouldn't have been around to say yes to an unbelievable opportunity: working on the set of a movie filming in her small Southern town that just happens to be starring Milo Ritter, the famous pop star Dee (along with the rest of the world) has had a crush since eighth grade.   It's not like Dee will be sharing any screen time with Milo--she's just a lowly PA. And Milo is so disappointingly rude that Dee is eager to stay far away from him. Except after a few chance meetings, she begins to wonder if just maybe there's a reason for his offensive attitude, and if there's more to Milo than his good looks and above-it-all Hollywood pedigree. Can a relationship with a guy like Milo ever work out for a girl like Dee? Never say never. . . .

Searching Netgalley one afternoon I saw the cover of My Unscripted Life and thought “how adorable” and once I started reading the description and saw “Perfect for fans of Jennifer L. Smith and Huntley Fitzpatrick,” I knew I HAD to read this book ASAP! (And holy wow!!! Was my gut reaction right!) In fact? It’s a ‘one-sitting’ kind of book! I could NOT put it down!  (I should’ve known – I absolutely adored Morrill’s Being Sloan Jacobs!

I don’t even know where to start reviewing this book, because THE FEELS!!! I loved Dee and her relationship with Naz, her best friend. In fact, if I had one complaint? It’s that we didn’t have enough of that. Although, I understand that Naz had to leave for the summer so that Dee could find her own way! (And find Milo!)

And Milo? **SWOON** Need I say more?? Who hasn’t had the fantasy of your favorite singer/actor/famous person just popping into your life?? And then to have him be amazing and perfect and dark and mysterious all at once? COME ON! He’s perfect!

Then, let’s add in the movie set! I’m a sound geek. Literally. My ‘day job’ is as an Audio Engineer – I’m a “sound guy” minus the whole guy thing. And I have always said I wished I’d gotten into it sooner, so that I could have done more! So seeing the tech side of the movie industry? Had me geeking out all over the place!

See? I feel like I didn’t tell you anything! But I’m writing this at 3am, about an hour after I finished reading it. I can’t sleep because my brain keeps playing through the book. I loved it so much!! And as the snipped says? Fans of Jennifer L. Smith and Huntley Fitzpatrick will be thrilled with this story!

 

Jac

I'm a homeschooling hockey mom from southern Colorado! I spend my free time blogging and reading (when I'm not at the ice arena or hiking in the Rockies!) and I have a crazy addiction to water bottles!

More Posts - Website

Follow Me:
TwitterFacebookPinterest

{ 1 comment… read it below or add one }

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

Previous post:

Next post: